Winter sports

Winter sports in Central and Northern Europe

In the lower elevations of Central Europe, a blanket of snow can only form temporarily during the winter months, which can also be used for winter sports. The situation is different in the higher altitudes of the low mountain ranges - above about 700 to 800 meters - and especially in the Alps above 1000 to 1200 meters. In these regions it is relatively snow reliable in high and late winter and therefore there are mainly numerous winter sports areas in which sometimes even international ski tournaments take place.

Webcam Brocken (Harz)

Webcam Brocken / Harz

A skiing holiday not only ensures that you can enjoy nature to the full, it also keeps you physically and mentally fit. However, you shouldn't start on a large, steep ski slope without preparation and practice, but rather practice a little on smaller slopes first.
In general, when doing sporting activities in the mountains you have to reckon with frequently changing weather conditions, with significantly more wind than in the lowlands. Clothing adapted to winter conditions is therefore essential.

Webcam Großer Inselsberg (Thuringian Forest)

Großer Inselsberg / Thuringian Forest

A panoramic view from the Inselsberg (on some days you can see the Brocken in the Harz Mountains) and the view from the second highest peak in the Thuringian Forest, the Schneekopf, you can see here Webcam pictures Thuringian Forest. The highest peak in the Thuringian Forest is the Great Beerberg.


Here you can find some information about the snow conditions and overnight accommodations as well as the weather in various winter sports regions in Central and Northern Europe.

Webcam Großer Arber (Bavarian Bohemian Forest)

Great Arber / Bavarian Bohemian Forest

Some informative links on the subject of winter sports

More mountain webcams

Norway

Germany

Czech Republic / Poland

Austria

Switzerland

Kahler Asten / Rothaar Mountains

7 day weather forecast

Webcam Galdhoppigen (Norway) (2200 m above sea level)

Webcam Galdhoppigen (Norway)

Galdhoppigen is the highest ski area in Scandinavia and is suitable for summer skiing due to its northern location and altitude. Even in mild winters and spring, there is enough snow that can sometimes last through the summer.

Wintersport

Wintersport in Mittel- und Nordeuropa

In den tieferen Lagen Mitteleuropas kann sich während der Wintermonate nur zeitweise eine Schneedecke bilden, die auch zum Wintersport genutzt werden kann. Anders sieht der Sachverhalt in den höheren Lagen der Mittelgebirge – oberhalb etwa 700 bis 800 Meter – und erst recht in den Alpen oberhalb 1000 bis 1200 Meter aus. In diesen Regionen ist es im Hoch- und Spätwinter relativ schneesicher und daher befinden sich hauptsächlich dort zahlreiche Wintersportgebiete, in den teilweise sogar internationale Ski-Turniere stattfinden.

Webcam Brocken (Harz)

Webcam Brocken/Harz

 

Ein Skiurlaub sorgt nicht nur dafür, die Natur ausgiebig genießen zu können, sondern die sportliche Betätigung hält einen körperlich und geistig fit. Dennoch sollte man nicht ohne Vorbereitung und Übung auf einem großen steilen Skihang beginnen, sondern zunächst auf kleineren Hängen ein wenig üben.
Generell muss man bei sportlichen Aktivitäten im Bergland mit häufig veränderten Wetterbedingungen rechnen, wobei auch deutlich mehr Wind als im Tiefland zu erwarten ist. Eine an winterliche Bedingungen angepasste Kleidung ist daher unerlässlich. 

 

Webcam Großer Inselsberg (Thüringer Wald)

Großer Inselsberg / Thüringer Wald

Eine Rundumsicht vom Inselsberg (an manchen Tagen kann man den Brocken im Harz sehen) und die Aussicht vom zweithöchsten Gipfel im Thüringer Wald, dem Schneekopf, siehst du hier auf Webcambilder Thüringer Wald. Der höchste Gipfel im Thüringer Wald ist der Große Beerberg.


Hier erfährst du einige Informationen zu den Schneebedingungen und Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten sowie über das Wetter in verschiedenen Wintersportregionen in Mittel- und Nordeuropa.

 

Webcam Großer Arber (Bayerischer Böhmerwald)

Großer Arber / Bayerischer Böhmerwald

 

Einige informative Links zum Thema Wintersport

 

Weitere Berg-Webcams

Norwegen

Deutschland

Tschechien/Polen

Österreich

Schweiz

 

 

 

Kahler Asten / Rothaargebirge

 

7-Tage-Wettervorhersage

 

Webcam Galdhoppigen (Norwegen) (2200 m ü.NN)

Webcam Galdhoppigen (Norwegen)

 

Galdhoppigen ist das höchstgelegene Skigebiet Skandinaviens und eignet sich aufgrund der nördlichen Lage und der Höhenlage zum Sommer-Ski. Selbst in milden Wintern und Frühjahren fällt hier ausreichend viel Schnee, der teilweise den Sommer überdauern kann.