temperature

current temperature values ​​in the Arctic and Antarctic

In the midsummer months, temperatures in the northern hemisphere rise above freezing almost everywhere. Especially in the continental areas such as in Siberia Values ​​above 30 degrees C are not uncommon. The inland ice of Greenland is an exception. It stays freezing cold here.

The same is true for the Antarctic continent. There, due to the altitude of around 3000 m above sea level, minus 20 to minus 30 degrees C are quite normal in midsummer. In winter, the mercury in the extended area of ​​the South Pole can drop to minus 80 to minus 90 degrees C. In the northern hemisphere, the lowest values ​​occur in winter in north-eastern Siberia with minus 60 to minus 70 degrees C.

Basically, for Comparability of the air temperature to ensure correct measurement. A protective device with good air flow is ideal, without sayCold or indirect sunlight and moisture can get to the sensor. In addition, the measurement should be carried out at a greater distance from buildings and vegetation at a height of two meters over short lawns.

Incidentally, there is even in Germany - apart from the highest mountain, the Zugspitze - places that are in the Summer in the nights of frost can have. These are usually high valleys in the low mountain ranges. One place that also has a weather station is in Marienberg Kühnheide in the Ore Mountains. Here is a report on Frost damage in summer in Kühnheide and here the link to Marienberg-Kühnheide weather station.

Here you can find out the current temperatures in the Arctic and Antarctic and their forecast for the coming days. Is there a significant drop in temperature? Maybe even with extreme cold?


Forecast of the air temperature in the Arctic and the adjacent polar regions in the next 10 days (ECMWF) -> Click on the picture for the current forecast <-

14 days forecast from Wetter24.de

Seasons forecast by the ECMWF

Of course, it is always exciting to see how the upcoming season will tend to be, i.e. too warm or too cold. The currently best forecast model, ECMWF, simulates temperature scenarios for the next three to five months once a month. These forecasts can of course only provide initial indications and their probability of occurrence is well below today's weekly or 10-day forecast. Even with an above-average temperature forecast, there can be a burst of cold air in between. However, large-scale anomaly distributions of the temperature forecast have often given good signals for the seasonal forecast in the past. Here it goes to Season forecast of the ECMWF.

October 2020: The simulations to date suggest that the winter 2020/2021 will be too mild, especially for Northern and Eastern Europe. In Central and Western Europe, no major deviations from the normal value are simulated. The polar and arctic regions are generally calculated to be milder than usual, only for Alaska, western Canada and between Greenland and Iceland there are signals for slightly below normal temperature values ​​from December to February.

Temperatur

aktuelle Temperaturwerte in der Arktis und Antarktis

In den Hochsommermonaten steigen die Temperaturen auf der Nordhalbkugel fast überall über den Gefrierpunkt. Besonders in den kontinental geprägten Gebieten wie z.B. in Sibirien sind dann auch Werte über 30 Grad C keine Seltenheit. Ausnahme ist das Inlandeis von Grönland. Hier bleibt es frostig kalt.

Das gleiche gilt auch für den antarktischen Kontinent. Dort sind auch aufgrund der Höhenlage von rund 3000 m u.NN im Hochsommer minus 20 bis minus 30 Grad C durchaus normal. Im Winter kann das Quecksilber im erweiterten Umkreis des Südpols’ auf minus 80 bis minus 90 Grad C zurückgehen. Auf der Nordhalbkugel treten die tiefsten Werte im Winter im Nordosten Sibiriens mit minus 60 bis minus 70 Grad C auf.

Grundsätzlich ist zur Vergleichbarkeit der Lufttemperatur auf richtige Messung zu achten. Ideal ist eine gut luftdurchflossene Schutzeinrichtung, ohne dass direkte oder indirekte Sonneneinstrahlung und Nässe an den Messfühler gelangt. Zudem sollte die Messung mit größerem Abstand von Gebäuden und Bewuchs in zwei Metern Höhe über kurzen Rasen durchgeführt werden.

Übrigens gibt es selbst in Deutschland – abgesehen vom höchsten Berg, die Zugspitze – Orte, die im Sommer in den Nächten Frost haben können. Das sind in der Regel Hochtäler in den Mittelgebirgen. Ein Ort, an dem auch eine Wetterstation steht, ist in Marienberg Kühnheide im Erzgebirge. Hier ein Bericht über Frostschäden im Sommer in Kühnheide und hier der Link zur Wetterstation Marienberg-Kühnheide.

Hier erfährst du die aktuelle Temperaturen in der Arktis und Antarktis und die deren Vorhersage für die kommenden Tage. Gibt es einen deutlichen Temperaturrückgang? Vielleicht sogar mit extremer Kälte?


Prognose der Lufttemperatur in der Arktis und den angrenzenden Polargebieten in den kommenden 10 Tagen (ECMWF) –> Auf das Bild klicken für die aktuelle Prognose <–

 

14 Tage Vorhersage von Wetter24.de

 

Jahreszeiten-Vorhersage des ECMWF

Natürlich ist es stets spannend, wie denn die bevorstehende Jahreszeit tendenziell ausfallen wird, also eher zu warm oder zu kalt. Das derzeit beste Vorhersagemodell ECMWF simuliert einmal pro Monat Temperaturszenarien für die kommenden drei bis fünf Monate. Diese Prognosen können natürlich nur erste Hinweise geben und deren Eintreffwahrscheinlichkeit liegt deutlich unter einer heutigen Wochen- oder 10-Tagesprognose. Selbst bei einer überdurchschnittlichen Temperaturprognose kann es zwischendurch Kaltluftvorstöße geben. Allerdings haben großräumige Anomalie-Verteilungen der Temperaturprognose in der Vergangenheit schon häufiger gute Signale für die Jahreszeitenprognose gegeben. Hier geht es zur Jahreszeitenprognose des ECMWF.

Oktober 2020: Die bisherigen Simulationen lassen speziell für Nord- und Osteuropa einen zu milden Winter 2020/2021 erwarten. In Mittel- und Westeuropa wird keine große Abweichungen vom Normalwert simuliert. Die polaren und arktischen Regionen werden generell milder als üblich berechnet, lediglich für Alaska, Westkanada und zwischen Grönland und Island gibt es Signale für leicht unternormale Temperaturwerte von Dezember bis Februar.